WUOG 90.5 Home

Category: Album Reviews

Sleater-Kinney – No Cities To Love


No Cities To Love is punk outfit, Sleater-Kinney’s first album after a nine-year hiatus. No Cities begins with “Price Tag”, a punchy anthem to consumerism. From minute one of the short thirty-three minute (ten song) album you’re hit with the hard-driving tempo that carries it throughout. “Fangless” is a tad funkier than the rest with a more danceable tune. “A New Wave” conquers the dilemma of identity, as much of the album does, with some welcome harmonizing. “Surface Envy” is arguably the crowning jewel, featuring quite a bit of dual guitar play. No Cities To Love definitely follows on in the path of their previous work yet seems a bit more concise. There’s no respite for the listener, each song gets straight to the point and before you can recover you’re thrown back in.

-Sarah Guirguis

Viet Cong – Viet Cong


Death plays a major part in Viet Cong’s composition. Aside from being the title of the epic final track on their debut album, it is death that initially brought the band together. After the tragic death of Women’s guitarist Christopher Reimer, Bassist/vocalist Matt Flegel and Drummer Michael Wallace formed Viet Cong, continuing the creation of anxiety fueled post-punk. Since their Cassette Ep, Viet Cong have incorporated synthesizers and drones of Swans intensity, further expanding their sound. “March of Progress” begins with a repetitive drum rhythm over minimal synth chords and tape loops, leading to metallic arpeggiating guitars and a verse that builds with full intensity, highlighting Wallace’s precise drumming and their ability to interweave guitars. The presence of Christopher Reimer lurks through each track, inspiring much of the content lyrically and musically. On Continental shelf, Flegel sings, “Don’t want to reminisce” and “Don’t want to face the world, it’s suffocating”, further revealing his emotional angst. On the album’s closer “Death”, Viet Cong play with driving force, exemplifying their greatest strengths and abilities. At just over 11 minutes, “Death” takes many forms, patiently building up into a throbbing drone until a sudden shift, changing the pace and playing at unusual time signatures similar to Women’s “Heat Distraction”. Viet Cong is an incredibly consistent album that stretches the boundaries of their previous work, blending familiarity with a certain freshness.

-Ben Houston

What’s new on WUOG? Strangest collab of the year, Helium/Autoclave/Wild Flag’s Mary Timony’s newest band and a buncha Canadian garage punks!


If you tune into WUOG you might hear the latest from Texas post-rockers This Will Destroy You and California dance-poppers Lemonade. Both albums have blue covers, so this article is visually pleasing.

This Will Destroy You – Another Language

Many have heard of Texas post-rock band Explosions in the Sky. Their atmospheric sound has made it into the hit TV show (and movie) “Friday Night Lights”, bringing music lovers’ attention to the Texas Post-Rock scene. Although Explosions in the Sky is usually the headliner when talking about this style of music, San Marcos, TX quartet This Will Destroy You is revolutionizing the scene. The biggest difference is that most post-rock bands such as Explosions in the Sky will follow the same formula for each song: Intro, Rising Action, Climax, Falling Action. This Will Destroy You was also guilty of following this set formula, but they seem to have break away from it in their latest record Another Language.

TWDY have been active since 2004 and they have come a long way in developing their sound. This record seems to realize the emotional effect certain sounds can evoke in a person’s mind. The band strays from using strictly guitar with delay pedals and pounding drums, focusing more on layering sounds and recognizing their effect on the listener. In tracks such as “Mother Opiate” the drums only use brushes to capture the hazy nature of opiates, while the spacey minor key offers a tone of depression and loss to the whole mix. The album ends with “God’s Teeth”, a track that I listened to constantly over and over again. The guitar swells drone in the back while a piano offers a progression that is calming. While that fades away, there are more sounds that come in offering the listener a pushing and pulling feeling, much like the internal struggle of someone struggling with faith, or someone on their deathbed. The song fades to black at the end, offering an eerie solace. This album is the perfect example of how music itself can speak so much to the soul. I highly recommend This Will Destroy You’s Another Language.

-Shubham Kadam

Lemonade – Minus Tide


This album by Lemonade provides the perfect synthesis between heavy electric beats and muted dance music. The vocals are harmonic and follow nicely with the instrumentals, creating a smooth synth pop experience for the listener. Sampling sexy saxophone for their ballads and heavy drums for the dance numbers Minus Tide is an extremely versatile album. The lyrics are the true gem. while dance music focuses on the beat and lyrics can fall by the wayside, that is not the case with Lemonade’s Minus Tide, as they combine inspirational lyrics with their tunes. The 80’s inspired vocals mesh well with the modern electronic beats, especially with softer songs such as “Durutti Shores,” providing pleasing hazy sounds, while “Water Colored visions” shows the lyrical capability of the band and the more dance music inspired “OST” allows for a high energy ending.

-Isabella Ballew

We have two featured albums that went into rotation this week, the soundtrack from twee king Stewart Murdoch’s new film and the latest from garage king Ty Segall.

Stewart Murdoch – God Help the Girl


The soundtrack for Stewart Murdoch’s debut film is everything you’d expect from the frontman of Belle & Sebastian.  God Help The Girl embodies all the twee charm of the Scottish indie band, but instead of the signature pipes of Stewart Murdoch, actors Emily Browning and Olly Alexander, amongst other actors, dominate the soundtrack.  God Help The Girl follows a coming age story of three young adults: Eve, James, and Cassie.  To cope with their own personal struggles, the trio strives for musical success with their band God Help The Girl.  The soundtrack is made up of musical numbers from the film interspersed with instrumental pieces and dialogue between the characters. God Help The Girl is upbeat and fun with tracks like “I Dumped You First”, “God Help The Girl”, and slower and mellow with “Act Of The Apostle” and “Baby’s Just Waiting”. Overall, God Help The Girl is warm and whimsical, highlighting the best songwriting talents of Belle & Sebastian.

reviewed by Anna Anderson

Ty Segall – Manipulator


 Ty Segall’s seventh album, Manipulator, has a very clear psychedelic influence while still highlighting Segall’s garage rock roots. The album is a departure from Segall’s usual chaotic sound, leaving behind most of the fuzz of his previous work. The guitar use in Manipulator has a definite 70s influence and has a much more clear sound than his last albums. The focus of this album lies in the instrumentation rather than the lyrics of any of the songs, as do most of his previous albums. Manipulator sounds as if it was plucked out of the 70s and dipped in a bath of garage rock.

reviewed by Sarah Guirguis​


You know the deal. Here comes another year end list, this one highlighting the best local releases (anything from the state of Georgia) of 2013. Ranked in a mostly arbitrary fashion by local music director WIll Guerin, with special consideration to input from Patrick Boyle and Alec Livaditis, as well as a handful of other WUOG staffers. Don’t read too much into the individual rankings, we just put the numbers there so you’ll (hopefully) read the list. So go ahead and enjoy 20 of our favorite 2013 local releases, edited by Dafna Kaufman and Will Guerin.